College of Engineering • Iowa State University

College of Engineering Leadership

W. Samuel Easterling

W. Samuel Easterling

James L. and Katherine S. Melsa Dean of Engineering

Biography (PDF) | Download photo 

wse@iastate.edu | 4100 Marston Hall

Executive Assistant, Amanda Runyan
runyan@iastate.edu | 515 294-9988 | 4100 Marston Hall


Arun Somani

Arun Somani

Senior Associate Dean

arun@iastate.edu | 4100 Marston Hall

Business Administrator, Jeremy Bowker
jcbowker@iastate.edu | 515 294-2701 | 4100 Marston Hall

Research enterprise including management of faculty startups and grant opportunities, graduate programs and recruitment, facilities and space.


Sriram Sundararajan

Sriram Sundararajan

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

srirams@iastate.edu | 4100 Marston Hall

Business Administrator, Jeremy Bowker
jcbowker@iastate.edu | 515 294-2701 | 4100 Marston Hall

Teaching and learning enterprise, undergraduate programs and accreditation, faculty affairs including advancement and review, awards and honors, and governance.


Connie Hargrave

Connie Hargrave

Associate Dean for Equity and Engagement

cph@iastate.edu | 4100 Marston Hall

Administrative Assistant, Jean Dubberke
jeand@iastate.edu | 515 294-2885 | 4100 Marston Hall

Diversity, equity and inclusion initiatives, broadening participation across the college communitiy, outreach and undergraduate recruitment.


Sri Sritharan

Sri Sritharan

Assistant Dean for Research

sri@iastate.edu | 4100 Marston Hall | 515-294-5238

Administrative Assistant, Jean Dubberke
jeand@iastate.edu | 515 294-2885 | 4100 Marston Hall

Advancing specific research initiatives, support large collaborative opportunities, and represent faculty with their IT needs.


Leadership Team

Mike Francom

Mike Francom

Chief Fiscal Officer

515-294-2337 | mfrancom@iastate.edu 
4100 Marston Hall | Finance Team

Administrative Assistant, Jean Dubberke
jeand@iastate.edu | 515 294-2885 | 4100 Marston Hall

Ryan Harms

John Aronowitz

Executive Director of Development

515 294-0743 | johnaron@iastate.edu
4300 Marston Hall | Development Team

Ann Wilson

Ann Wilson

Director, Communications and Marketing

515 294-4881 | afwilson@iastate.edu
4200 Marston Hall | Communications Team

Carmen Gomes

Carmen Gomes

Equity Advisor

515 294-1138 | carmen@iastate.edu
Diversity, equity and inclusion aspects of faculty body.

Jen Heinen

Jen Heinen

Professor-in-charge, Continuous Improvement and ABET Accreditation

515 294-1891 | jmheinen@iastate.edu
Website: College of Engineering Accreditation

Cris Schwartz

Cris Schwartz

Professor-in-charge, Foundational Mechanics Course Experience

515 294-2866 | cris1@iastate.edu

Akhilesh Tyagi

Akhilesh Tyagi

Professor-in-charge, Software Engineering

515 294-4396 | tyagi@iastate.edu
Website: Software Engineering

Dave Sly

Dave Sly

Director, Start Something Initiative

515 296-3120 | davesly@iastate.edu
Website: Start Something College of Engineering


Department Chairs

Alric Rothmayer

Aerospace Engineering

Alric Rothmayer, Chair

515 294-5666 | roth@iastate.edu
1200A Howe Hall | Department Website

Amy Kaleita

Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering

Amy Kaleita, Chair

515 294-1434 | kaleita@iastate.edu
1340B Elings Hall | Department Website

Andy Hillier

Chemical and Biological Engineering

Andy Hillier, Chair

515 294-7642 | hillier@iastate.edu
2114 Sweeney Hall | Department Website

David Sanders

Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering

David Sanders, Chair

515 294-2140 | sandersd@iastate.edu
394 Town Engineering | Department Website

Ashfaq Khokhar

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Ashfaq Khokhar, Chair

515 294-1097 | ashfaq@iastate.edu
2215 Coover Hall | Department Website

Sarah Ryan

Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering

Sarah Ryan, Interim Chair

515 294-1682 | smryan@iastate.edu
3004 Black Engineering Building | Department Website

Chris Cornelius

Materials Science and Engineering

Chris Cornelius, Chair

515 294-1214 | cjcornel@iastate.edu
2220 Hoover Hall | Department Website

Caroline Hayes

Mechanical Engineering

Caroline C. Hayes, Chair

515 294-1423 | cchayes@iastate.edu
2043 Black Engineering Building | Department Website

Loading...